This I Know – Psalm 56:9

“This I know, that God is for me.” Psalm 56:9b

Such a beautiful, confident statement of faith. So simply stated. Yet in its simplicity it has the ability to reassure our hearts possibly more than many other words. We don’t get lost in an elaborate display of eloquence, a passage full of so much depth that we struggle to understand the meaning. Instead we can focus in and allow its truth to penetrate our heart. It covers everything we encounter, every question we have. However dark or light our path appears, we have the reminder: “This I know, that God is for me.” The truth in it doesn’t shift or waver. It is constant. It is a rock for us to stand on.

For the writer of this psalm, the statement was made in the midst of trouble and attack. Oppression “all day long” (Psalm 56:1). Yet David declares in verses 3 and 4, “When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.” He cast out fear, choosing to believe the Word of God. He trusted, because he knew that God was for him.

God is for us. He is for you. In every situation, every moment of the day. He is for us. Facing any affliction, any doubt, any fear, any confusion or pain. We can cling to this truth. Almighty God will never fail. He will never fail in fulfilling His purposes, and He will never fail you.

Leave a Reply

