Wait in Silence – Psalm 62:1,5

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation…For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.” Psalm 62:1,5

It’s hard to wait in silence. Especially within our souls. Because that means it goes beyond trying to bottle up emotions and ignore doubts we have. It means trusting our God so deeply that even our souls quietly wait. Questions and fears are silenced and we rest in the perfect love and sovereign grace of our Lord. We remember that our salvation, our hope, comes from the God who loves us, who is all-powerful, and who never changes. We believe that we can trust His purposes, His actions, and His timing.

We say with David in Psalm 131:1-2, “I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But I have calmed and quieted my soul.” We recognize that God’s understanding and wisdom are far greater than our own. It doesn’t take perfection. It simply takes intentional reminders of truth and a determined choice to trust this God who is our refuge and strength. Even accomplishing this silence requires a strength we don’t have. But God’s grace reaches even that far. We pray for strength. We pray for peace. We pray for help in our unbelief. And He is always, always faithful to provide it. We can see this struggle to maintain faith in verse 5. It’s very similar to verse 1, but is strikingly different. This one isn’t a declaration. David is encouraging his soul, possibly even pleading with himself, to wait in silence. To let go of the doubts and the fears and trust His Lord. He reminds himself that his hope is from God and he can trust God’s faithfulness.

Perhaps his reminders can be a help to us as we strive to believe and trust God with every piece of our lives. “He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us” (Psalm 62:6-8).

Our God is up to the task. He is willing and able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or imagine. He is our Rock, our Fortress, and is so capable in those roles that we will not be shaken when we take refuge in Him and stand on His truth. On God, not on us or anyone else, rests our salvation. He saves us and keeps us, continuing His work of renewing us each day. We can trust Him. We can pour out our hearts before His throne of grace, and can then quiet our souls to wait for Him to fulfill His purposes in grace, glory, and flawless timing.

Leave a Reply

