All That We Are – Deuteronomy 10:12-15

“And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God require of you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to keep the commandments and statutes of the LORD, which I am commanding you today for your good? Behold, to the LORD your God belong heaven and the heaven of heavens, the earth with all that is in it. Yet the LORD set his heart in love on your fathers and chose…you above all peoples.” Deuteronomy 10:12-15

God requires so much of us. No less than everything. Yet so often I end up giving Him less. I was convicted this morning of spending less and less time with Him. Not intentionally. Not meaning to cram Him into a small time frame. But that’s what ends up happening. I find myself with a few precious moments to talk with Him and read His Word, asking Him to speak and give me the words to write, relying on Him to be faithful, and then I have to be out the door. It’s become far too routine.

Yet He never ceases to be faithful…how amazing is this? That even with my flaws and my tendency to give Him much less than He deserves, He is still faithful to me. Still faithful to give me something, not just for my good, but for yours as well. I am always grateful for this ministry that has developed, because it constantly reminds me how dependent I am on God. It keeps me desperate. It holds me accountable. I don’t want this to ever become commonplace for me. And I don’t want to take advantage of His faithfulness and start to think, “Well, it doesn’t really matter if I only give Him 5 minutes. He’ll still give me something.” Because at some point, when I cease to honor Him and make Him my everything, His discipline will start.

He demands all that we are. We must recognize His holiness, His terrifying greatness, His supremacy above all things. We revere Him as He reigns over everything in righteousness and power. We are to walk in all His ways. We are to love Him, to serve Him with all our heart and all our soul. To serve Him with joyfulness and gladness of heart (Deuteronomy 28:47). He owns everything. He made everything. Yet He set His heart in love on us and chose us. And He will be faithful to us forever, always pouring out grace for our every need. How can we offer Him less than everything? How can we try to fit Him in to our schedule? He shouldn’t be a priority on our list. He should cover the entire thing. It’s all about Him. There is nothing greater. There is no activity or relationship that will give us greater satisfaction or fill us with more joy. “Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you?” (Psalm 71:19). There is none like our God. No one who can come close to His glory and splendor. He speaks to us. He delights in us. So let us run to Him and make Him our greatest delight.

Leave a Reply

