Wondrous Things – Psalm 72:18

“Blessed be the LORD, the God of Israel, who alone does wondrous things.” Psalm 72:18

It’s my birthday. 29. Life looks quite a bit different than I expected growing up. I can get caught up in those expectations and feel disappointment towards my story. Especially if it looks like everyone else is getting what I thought I wanted. But that focus makes me forget how great my God is. It causes me to miss out on the wonder of what He is doing in my life. I lose sight of the new dreams He has put in my heart, dreams that are greater and bigger than those I had.

Because my God does wondrous things. They weren’t reserved for Bible stories, and they aren’t bestowed on everyone but me. He does wondrous things now, in my life and in yours, because He is great and glorious and wonderful.

He is daily transforming my heart. That alone is miraculous. He is making me into the woman He created me to be, molding and shaping me with each step. He is pouring His love into my heart and working to renew me so that I will look like Christ. He is drawing me close and sweeping me away with grace. He makes this more clear to me each day, so as I grow older He will appear continually more glorious to my eyes.

Who am I, that He would be so faithful to me? That His mercies would be new and I would have the promise that His transforming and restoring work will not cease until His work is complete? That He would choose me as a conduit of His truth and grace, as a witness of His greatness? I am a child of the Most High God. The God who alone does wondrous things. The One who forms light and creates darkness (Isaiah 45:7), whose purposes stand regardless of our plans and expectations (Proverbs 19:21). He has promised to never leave or forsake me (Joshua 1:5), and that no weapon fashioned against me shall stand (Isaiah 54:17). What greater confidence could I have than this?

“He will dwell on the heights; his place of defense will be the fortresses of rocks; his bread will be given him; his water will be sure” (Isaiah 33:16). I can trust in my Father who does wondrous things. I am safe here. I am provided for, my cup filled to overflowing. This next year will show more of God’s faithfulness. Every step is full of His grace and strength. All of it shines with His goodness, and our future is full of hope because it is full of the purposes and glory of God. “Your eyes will behold the king in his beauty; they will see a land that stretches afar” (Isaiah 33:17).

Leave a Reply

