A Place to Belong – Psalm 84:3

“Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at your altars, O LORD of hosts, my King and my God.” Psalm 84:3

It doesn’t matter how insignificant we feel. We have a home, we find our place at the altar of God. So many search for a place to belong. They can find it at the cross of Christ. It is in laying down our lives here that we find what true life is. We surrender ourselves, giving up our pride and rebellion, and we find freedom. We discover peace, hope, and steadfast love.

“At the beginning of your pleas for mercy a word went out, and I have come to tell it to you, for you are greatly loved” (Daniel 9:23). We are greatly loved. Not because we have a lot to offer. But simply because God has chosen to love us greatly.

So even the least among us can find a home, a place where we belong, at the altar of our Lord. No more fears. No more insecurities. All anxieties fade as we allow the truth and love of God to penetrate our hearts. We are greatly loved by the One who knows our every detail, the Holy One who sees our heart. He cleanses us and draws us near as we are covered in the righteousness and beauty of Christ.

Lord, thank You for how You love me. Because You, in all of Your power and might and holiness, love me greatly. Even if days come when I feel like “the least of these,” I find my home at Your altar. I could search the whole world for a place to belong, but I will only find it wholly in Christ.

Leave a Reply

