Everything – Deuteronomy 10:12

“And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God require of you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul” Deuteronomy 10:12

A question has been in my thoughts this morning. Is God really my everything? He demands so much of us. We can’t do this halfway. And I know that He’s worth it. But do I really commit to this throughout my days? Am I truly seeking after Christ with every piece of my heart?

I’m fallen, and the Spirit’s work in me isn’t done yet, so there is a level of this that I won’t reach in this life. But I don’t want to settle for less. I don’t want to simply accept and justify away the obstacles to unhindered fellowship with my Creator. He is my joy. He’s it. He’s everything. It’s so easy to say that, to speak words of truth about who our God is and how He should be my priority and everything in my life should be characterized by His light, but I don’t want them to be mere words. I want this to be my life. I want Christ to shine brilliantly. For my words and actions to be so full of my Lord’s character and glory that it’s clear to all around that there’s something different here. That there is something to the grace and kindness and intentionality shown in my life. I want everything to be evidence of Him.

But I fail so often. I forget. I don’t think about it. I get caught up in the day-to-day life, stuck in a routine, frustrated with details, and settle in to the influences of those around me. I want my God to be my influence. I want to walk in all His ways, not mine. I want to love Him and serve Him with all my heart and all my soul. To live my life looking to my Savior for direction, for satisfaction, for peace, for acceptance. I am known fully by the God who reigns over everything, the One who is holy and righteous, and He has chosen to love me even with all the ways I fail Him. Why would I set that love aside and pursue anything else? Why would I deny my heart the fullness of joy and the unspeakable peace that is found in the presence of my Lord?

“For from him and through him and to him are all things” (Romans 11:36). Scripture tells us that it’s all about God. Everything comes from Him. Everything is sustained and held together and accomplished through Him. And everything comes back to Him, bringing Him glory and honor and praise. What my heart needs to grasp is that this is good. That this is where delight is found. I’m not missing out on anything by making Christ my focus. Instead, I am freeing myself to enjoy all the blessings found when I let go and give God the reins. We get to experience a life without limitations. A life no longer based on chance and the possibilities we see. It’s a life where it doesn’t all depend on us. We don’t have to figure everything out and rely on our own strength and wisdom. We don’t have to be “enough.” We look to God, knowing that He is in control, and trust Him to lead us perfectly. We follow wherever He leads, we strive to love and forgive and show grace even in impossible situations. We trust our Lord to act for us and to be faithful in all things. And then, in breathtaking and unexpected ways, we see His glory unfold. That’s what I want. I don’t want to settle. I want to live abundantly.

Leave a Reply

