All His Benefits – Psalm 116:12

“What shall I render to the LORD for all his benefits to me?” Psalm 116:12

When I contemplate all that my God has done for me, I wonder: how can I give Him less than everything? Nothing I offer will possibly compare with His greatness, His grace, His mercy shown to me. I’m so glad it isn’t a competition or a sales transaction. That His grace doesn’t create a debt that I owe. On the contrary, it is grace that erases my debt. It is grace that frees me to enjoy Him. Knowing that grace, the grace shown in the past, the grace that sustains me in this moment, and the grace promised to me in the future, how can Inot love Him with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength? How can I serve Him with anything but joyfulness and gladness of heart?

Our God is great. And He is amazingly good to us. I think I can forget this at times when my prayers receive a “No.” I know He always hears me. I know He always answers. But I also know He doesn’t always answer the way I want Him to. Those disappointments can root in my soul and weaken my faith. If I don’t let them go and choose to fully trust in the grace, wisdom, and faithfulness of my God who saves me, my response to His “No” will steal my joy. I think that’s why throughout Scripture we are called to remember His works.

“Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s” (Psalm 103:2-5). Our God is faithful. Let us be intentional about not forgetting all of His benefits, His goodness toward us.

“I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the LORD” (Psalm 116:13). This verse is the answer to the question asked at the beginning. It highlights the greatest benefit we can receive: salvation. Considering all that the Lord has done in my life, this is the most amazing act. Yet after awhile, thoughts of this can became commonplace. We don’t truly feel the wonder in the reality of what Jesus has done for us. I pray that God would refresh us, that He would restore to us the joy of our salvation as we realize anew what occurred on the cross.

Lifting up the cup of salvation, praising His faithfulness and grace, focusing on the cross—that symbol of death which is our symbol of hope—let us call on the name of our Lord who keeps us. The God who sees us.

“Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever” (Psalm 118:1). Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good. I pray that disappointments would not overpower your faith or shadow your memories of how faithful God has been to you. “Out of my distress I called on the LORD; the LORD answered me and set me free” (Psalm 118:5). In our distress, we call on the Lord. We call on Him, trusting Him to hear and be faithful. And He answers and sets us free. Free from distress and fear. Free from chains that bind us. Free from the death that threatens. Free from the expectations we place on ourselves that hinder our growth in Christ. Free from the darkness that limits our view.

“The LORD is on my side” (Psalm 118:6). This is truth. He is on your side. He is for you. He will not fail you. Trust in this.

Leave a Reply

