He Keeps Us – Psalm 121

“The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.” Psalm 121:8

I never noticed before how strongly Psalm 121 focuses on how the Lord keeps us. The writer begins by recognizing that his help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth. So it starts off highlighting His power: He made all things, therefore everything belongs to Him and nothing is beyond His power to accomplish. He is in control as Creator.

Then this psalm, only 8 verses in length, begins its emphasis on His everlasting faithfulness to His people. Because He keeps us. Isn’t that a beautiful picture? We are kept by the God of Heaven. So we will never be cast aside. We will never be forgotten. There will never be a moment when He doesn’t see us or understand what we’re going through. “The Lord knows those who are his” (2 Timothy 2:19). And we are His, always. Because He keeps us forever. “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand” (John 10:27-29).

Looking over the rest of Psalm 121, I pray that our powerful and gracious Lord will speak to your heart and instill His truths deep in your soul, unfolding the beautiful reality of how He keeps you and what that means for your life.

“I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.”

Leave a Reply

