Worth Fighting For – Deuteronomy 6:5-6

“You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.” Deuteronomy 6:5-6

This morning we have a health screening at work. Which means that I can’t eat anything or drink coffee until after my appointment around 9:00. The lack of coffee is taking its toll. Focus seems to be in short supply. Reading and praying is difficult when one is sleepy.

But I don’t want to miss out on God simply because I haven’t had my coffee. He’s greater than that. He’s more precious than that. I value His presence too highly to give up on this time with Him. I still love Him. And I still want my love for my Lord to shine in every avenue. I want His words, His commands, to be on my heart. I want His truth to be firmly planted so that it flows into everything.

So on some level, this is one of those moments when we choose what is true and important. We decide what to fight for. We decide if God is worth the extra effort. This may seem like a stretch for such a small thing as not getting coffee first thing in the morning. I readily admit that this is not among the hardest moments of someone’s life. But please follow me here. We all have days when seeking God’s face, listening for His voice, and treasuring His Word in our heart is more difficult than others. When it’s more like a battle than a sweet time of rest. Times of pain. Times of weariness. Times of frustration. Times of confusion. Times when we just feel stuck wherever we are. Times when everything is just too overwhelming.

These moments in our lives test us. They reveal where our heart lies. They are opportunities for us to cling to Christ and say, “I may not understand, I may not feel up to the task or really feel like being here, I may want to tear my hair out or collapse in tears or just quit, but I want You more than anything. I still choose You. So I’m looking to You and asking You to meet me here.” We seek Him, wanting the peace of Christ to rule in our hearts. Wanting the joy of our salvation to be restored. And you know what we find when we choose to trust Him? He is faithful. He comes through. Every time.

Leave a Reply

