Not Forgotten – Isaiah 44:21

“Remember these things, O Jacob, and Israel, for you are my servant; I formed you; you are my servant; O Israel, you will not be forgotten by me.” Isaiah 44:21

“You will not be forgotten by me.” The God of Heaven has declared that you will not be forgotten. A few chapters later, He further affirms this truth: “Sing for joy, O heavens, and exult, O earth; break forth, O mountains, into singing! For the LORD has comforted his people and will have compassion on his afflicted. But Zion said, ‘The LORD has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.’ Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me” (Isaiah 49:13-16).

In moments of despair we are tempted to say with Zion, “The LORD has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.” Because we can’t comprehend why this God of love, if He does see us and is aware of our circumstances, would allow things to fall apart. Our heart says that He must have forgotten. That He must not see. Or He must not care. Believer, please cling to truth in these moments. Remind your heart that even when we cannot fathom His reasons, His love is still carrying us. His faithfulness still surrounds us. His grace will continually sustain us. His bond with us, His commitment to us, is greater and stronger than even that of a mother and her child. Because even that bond can be broken. “Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you.” I love the picture in the next line: “Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” Engraved on the palms of the hands of our Redeemer. The God who loved us so greatly that He gave His life to save us, and so steadfastly that He has promised to keep us forever.

What hope, what comfort is found here. Assurance that when we can’t see Him, He has His eyes fixed on us. He will not forget us. He will not forsake us. Our all-powerful God will not loosen His loving grasp on us for a moment. “Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, who formed you from the womb: ‘I am the LORD, who made all things, who alone stretched out the heavens, who spread out the earth by myself’” (Isaiah 44:24). This is our Lord. Our Redeemer. The One who formed you from the womb. This is the One who will never forget you. Hold fast to Truth, because He is always holding fast to you.

Leave a Reply

