Because I Rejoice – 1 Samuel 2:1-2

“And Hannah prayed and said, ’My heart exults in the LORD; my strength is exalted in the LORD. My mouth derides my enemies, because I rejoice in your salvation. There is none holy like the LORD; there is none besides you; there is no rock like our God.’” 1 Samuel 2:1-2

I love the line, “My mouth derides my enemies, because I rejoice in your salvation.” The enemies of God—those enemies that whisper to our heart the lies that God is not faithful, that we are condemned, that He isn’t real or He isn’t with us—are ridiculed as we rejoice in His salvation. As we choose to trust and serve Him and to believe that He is good, that He hears, and that He saves us.

Hannah had reason in her life to doubt the faithfulness of God. She was barren. Her husband loved her, but his other wife who had children would mock Hannah. So not only did she have to live with the fact that she would never bear children, but she also had to face this woman who constantly tore her down. But Hannah does not abandon the Lord in her despair. She runs to Him. She falls on her face, weeping, and prays with all of her heart. He hears. He answers. The God of Heaven gave her a son, and she faithfully fulfilled her vow to commit him to the Lord’s service.

Disappointed hopes. Insurmountable weakness. Illness. Death. Broken relationships. We all walk through circumstances that shake and test our faith. What will we choose when surrounded by difficulty and spiritual warfare that wages against our soul? “O LORD, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me; many are saying of my soul, there is no salvation for him in God. But you, O LORD, are a shield about me; my glory, and the lifter of my head. I cried aloud to the LORD, and he answered me from his holy hill” (Psalm 3:1-4). “Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed; he will answer him from his holy heaven with the saving might of his right hand. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright” (Psalm 20:6-8). This is our response when we are faced with flaming arrows of doubt and despair from the enemy. We declare that we know that the Lord saves. We know He hears and will answer with the saving might of His right hand. We trust not in our own strength or in any earthly power, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. We therefore rise and stand upright, standing in the strength of our Lord, proclaiming that “There is none holy like the LORD; there is none besides you; there is no rock like our God.”

“But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. For you bless the righteous, O LORD; you cover him with favor as with a shield.” Psalm 5:11-12

Leave a Reply

