Steadfast – Psalm 57:1

“Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me,
for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge,
till the storms of destruction pass by”

Psalm 57:1

I honestly feel quite without words today. I had a devotion almost ready to post when I heard the news about the explosion in Texas…and it stopped me in my tracks. I just didn’t feel that what I had written would be right for today. But then I found myself not at all knowing what to say. And my workday got started and it was one thing after another. I haven’t had much time to think. And when I do, there’s nothing I can think of that sounds right.

But really, do any of us quite know what to think when tragedies hit like this? No matter what the casualty number is, there are lives forever changed in the wake of it. Individuals having to adapt to a new set of normalcy. Which is really hard. I don’t know how people handle any of it without Christ. Because when questions fill your mind and especially when it’s your life directly affected, it’s vital to have something solid to cling to. Some truth that will stand. Someone who will be there, something you can’t lose.

My brother said once, “We have nothing to lose because God will not let us lose Him.” I love the truth highlighted there. Such hope. Such confidence in the steadfastness of God. And with all of the things this painful, difficult, ever-changing life throws at us, don’t we all long for something steadfast?

In one of his letters to the early church, Paul writes this beautiful line: “May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the steadfastness of Christ” (2 Thessalonians 3:5). I pray the same for you. Wherever you find yourself today. Whatever your path in life holds at this moment. Even if you’re still trying to decide what you think about this whole “God” thing. I pray He will open the eyes of your heart to see His glory, to know that He’s faithful and He’s worth everything.

The God of Heaven set His heart in love on you. Not a love that’s fickle and uncertain, but love that is perfect and pure and unchanging. And when we take refuge in Christ, we find His hold on us to be absolutely steadfast. He will not let you go. No matter how the storm rages around you, you can find a refuge, a mighty fortress, in our Lord.

“Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me, for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by.”

Leave a Reply

