My God – Psalm 31:3,7,14

“For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead and guide me…I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because you have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul…I trust in you, O LORD, I say, ‘You are my God.’” Psalm 31:3, 7, 14

This morning the writing will be slightly different. Because I’m simply going to share the prayer I wrote in my journal. Some days I’ll change some of the words so it’s not just a prayer…but there’s something about hearing or reading someone’s prayer that makes it a bit more intimate. It’s insight into a personal conversation. You see the relationship. So I share it in hopes that God will use the truth He has been reminding me of to draw you closer to His heart.

God, You’re so faithful. That never ceases to amaze me. Thank You for showing Your faithfulness to me. For the God of all to stake the greatness, power, and authority of His name on His faithfulness to His people is jaw-dropping.

You are perfect love. You are steadfast. You never change. You are always here. With understanding and compassion and strength, drawing me to Your heart, opening my eyes to the beautiful truth in Your law.

My God. My God who leads me. My God who watches over me. My God who reigns over everything. My God who loves me too much to allow me to continue outside of His will. Because Your will is greater. Your will is satisfying to my soul. Your good, pleasing, and perfect will. As Andy Stanley once put it, Your will is good for me. It is pleasing, which means that I will like it. And it fits me perfectly—my personality, my quirks, my passions and joys. You knit me together in my mother’s womb with each of my days written. Even then, You had Your will for me in mind and You knit me together accordingly. You knew Your purposes for me and exactly how You would fulfill them. You knew how I would fall, and how You would show me grace as I cried out to You.

How immeasurably great You are. How abundantly faithful.

Leave a Reply

