Returning to Rest – Psalm 116:7-8

“Return, O my soul, to your rest;  for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you. For you have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling” Psalm 116:7-8

Today I don’t want to get caught up in words…I find myself just wanting to sit quietly and listen. To not think about everything too much and instead open my heart to hear God singing over me. The Lord has dealt bountifully with me. He has delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, and my feet from stumbling. He is faithful. He is for me. As I calm and quiet my soul, He beckons me to rest in the shadow of His wings.

As I paused this morning to dwell on this, I simply prayed that God would open my heart to hear His songs and recognize His sweet melody. I asked Him to speak peace to my soul. Sitting here, the next song that came on Pandora was “My Beloved” by Kari Jobe. Tears came to my eyes as I realized what a perfect choice it was. What a beautiful example of the faithful, compassionate care of our God.

Lord, I pray that our hearts would hear You singing over us today. May we calm and quiet our souls, trusting You in each moment to be acting for us. You have dealt bountifully with me. You will continue to do so. “And those who know Your name put their trust in You” (Psalm 9:10a).

Leave a Reply

