Running the Course with Joy – Psalm 19:4-5

“In them he has set a tent for the sun, which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber, and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy.” Psalm 19:4-5

Reading this verse, I began to wonder—am I running my course with joy, as the sun does in the heavens? Truly running it with joy? It seems so easy for me to get caught up in everything else. To see my failures or the things I wish I could do better or simply the busyness of life, and get overwhelmed. So I wanted to take a few minutes and contemplate what it takes to run our course with joy.

Joy is a fruit of the Spirit. Which means that to have it, I must be abiding in the Vine. It means that I am resting in Christ and nurturing that relationship. I am trusting in Christ. He is my focus and my priority. I am actively making Him that priority. Making the time. Choosing to obey. Strengthening my heart to maintain a love for Him above all else. It means I am not spending my energy trying to figure everything out. I’m not looking at life and getting overwhelmed; rather, I am looking to my Lord and asking for wisdom. Asking for guidance. Asking for strength. Asking for help when my faith seems shaken. Believing that He will be faithful to provide all of this. Running my course with joy means that I am shaking off fear, doubt, and the thought that this is about me and what I can do. It means I recognize that it is all about God and how He can be glorified in me. It means emptying myself of everything so that I can be filled with Him and He can accomplish all His purposes for me. So I’m not fighting to get my own way or lamenting when I don’t. I’m trusting Christ more than that. I’m saying “Yes” to every opportunity He places in front of me, with wholehearted abandon and the faith that He equips those He calls.

Let us decide today to run our course with joy, determined to choose Christ every moment, facing forward so that we don’t get held back by failures of the past. Let us rest in Him and believe that He will teach us to walk in His ways. Delight in our God, treasure His Word, and joy will root itself in your heart.

“The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul; the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple; the precepts of the LORD are right, enlightening the eyes; the fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever; the rules of the LORD are true, and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey and drippings of the honeycomb” Psalm 19:7-10

Leave a Reply

