Teach Me Your Paths – Psalm 25:4-5

“Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.” Psalm 25:4-5

It’s such a comfort to me to know that as I walk through this life, my Lord will teach me His paths. He will lead me in His truth and teach me. It’s not up to me to figure it all out on my own and guess at what is right. I just need to look to my God and trust Him to be my Teacher and my perfect Guide.

“Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in the way. He leads the humble in what is right, and teaches the humble his way” (Psalm 25:8-9). From these verses, it seems that the two prerequisites for those God will lead is that they are sinners and that they are humble. Perfection isn’t listed here. Neither is self-righteousness. So the God of Heaven, in His goodness, righteousness, and grace, faithfully leads those of us who recognize our fallen nature, see our sinful tendencies, and look to Him for forgiveness and the strength to overcome. We humble ourselves and ask for His help, because we know we can’t do this on our own. We look to our Father to teach us His way—the way that is good and pleasing and perfect—and He promises to do so. Isn’t that amazing? It makes life seem a lot less daunting. Because it really isn’t up to us to find the best course; it’s up to God to lead us. We just need to fix our eyes on Him, draw close, and learn to listen to His voice.

The next verse in the psalm shows us what we find when we follow the leading of our Lord. “All the paths of the LORD are steadfast love and faithfulness, for those who keep his covenant and his testimonies” (Psalm 25:10). We find that this way He leads us down, this way He teaches us, is steadfast love and faithfulness. It doesn’t just have those qualities mixed in with everything else—they define our way as we walk with Christ. We hold fast to our Lord and we experience life within His steadfast love and faithfulness. Because they never leave us. “For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness” (Psalm 26:3).

So as we face each day, as circumstances arise when we have no clue what to do or how to proceed with the new chapter in our life, let us find hope in Christ. May our hearts be encouraged knowing that our Lord is leading us, teaching us how to walk each step. Each moment we can look to Him and trust Him to guide faithfully. We are held in His steadfast love. He is the God of our salvation. As such, He will not fail us. He will save and keep us. So we wait for Him all the day long, because He is worth waiting for and He will never fail to come through.

“He will surely be gracious to you at the sound of your cry. As soon as he hears it, he answers you. And though the Lord give you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your Teacher will not hide himself anymore, but your eyes shall see your Teacher. And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it,’ when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:19-21

Leave a Reply

