I Will Heal Him – Isaiah 57:14

“Build up, build up, prepare the way, remove every obstruction from my people’s way” Isaiah 57:14

Our gracious Lord prepares our way. He removes every obstruction that would keep us from reaching Him. As we return, humble and contrite. As we seek healing.

“Because of the iniquity of his unjust gain I was angry…but he went on backsliding in the way of his own heart. I have seen his ways, but I will heal him” (Isaiah 57:17-18). God sees our failure. He is very aware of our weaknesses and He knows our sin. He knows the times we have gone on backsliding in the way of our own heart. But in His extravagant grace, this is His response: “I have seen his ways, but I will heal him.”

Our Lord prepares the way for us. He removes every obstruction from His people’s way. And He meets us as we walk on this road, bringing healing and restoration to our souls. He is faithful “to revive the spirit of the lowly, and to revive the heart of the contrite” (Isaiah 57:15). He doesn’t hide from us. He doesn’t make it more difficult to come to Him. He beckons us. He waits for us. He fights for us.

“When Israel sought for rest, the LORD appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you…With weeping they shall come, and with pleas for mercy I will lead them back. I will make them walk by brooks of water, in a straight path in which they shall not stumble, for I am a father to Israel, and Ephraim is my firstborn.” Jeremiah 31:2-3, 9

“For I will restore health to you, and your wounds I will heal, declares the LORD.” Jeremiah 30:17

“‘Peace, peace, to the far and to the near,’ says the LORD, ‘and I will heal him.’” Isaiah 57:19

Leave a Reply

