Resting in His Shadow – Mark 9:35

“And he sat down and called the twelve. And he said to them, ‘If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.’” Mark 9:35

When Jesus taught the disciples, He completely turned their thinking upside-down. So much of what He said was backwards—is backwards—to the way the world works. Because our world is broken. Because we like accolades. Because we desire greatness. Because we want to be strong and successful. Because we want security. But joy is not found in any of these things. It is only found in Christ. It is found in knowing His greatness and strength. It is in the praise of the One for Whom the stars shine and all of creation sings. It is in the security of knowing Whose we are. I am His. Bought. Redeemed. Forgiven. Loved. Kept. Forever.

So I follow. I draw near. I strive to obey in the smallest of ways, listening for that still, small voice, trusting that my Lord’s purposes in each moment are good and He will use them to bring Himself great glory. I don’t need to be seen as great. I don’t need to see results, only to entrust them to my God and believe that He is using me. It’s a constant battle, a fight against my prideful nature that wants to be self-sufficient and exalted. But I fight for the joy of knowing my God and resting in His shadow.

Jesus, turn me upside-down. Wreck my life with Your radical, boundless love. It’s easy for me to get overwhelmed by my weakness and my faulty mindsets. Transform me, Lord. Be glorified in my life, using my weakness to highlight Your strength and to brilliantly display Your faithfulness. Because You are faithful. You are steadfast. And You are unfathomably great. May I rest in the security of knowing Whose I am, and find my joy in the praise and power of my God.

Leave a Reply

