Your Very Life – Deuteronomy 32:47

“For it is no empty word for you, but your very life.” Deuteronomy 32:47a

I read these words this morning shortly before something happened to highlight a deep fear of mine. Working to face that fear, to get to the root of what I was struggling with, brought me back around to this verse.

The Bible may seem like mere words to a lot of people. A history book. A fable. Good advice for life. Hit-and-miss as far as whether something’s going to speak to where you are or be remotely relevant. But to me, this Word isn’t empty. It’s my life. It has to be. This is the Word of my God. And without Him, my life has no meaning. It has no hope. Without this Word to show me who He is, to highlight truth and light, my world is dark. My future is entirely uncertain. Without this Word, without His promises, I have no reason to believe anything in my life is going to change for the better. Without Him, it’s all up to me to make my life what I want it to be, and I know that I’m not up to the task.

But with this Word, everything changes. I know who my God is. Hope is real. My God is active. He is here, with me, in this moment, as I seek His face and desire to see truth. He is faithful. Even when my faith is shaky. The state of my faith doesn’t determine how faithful He is. Because I am His, and that matters to Him. My God is powerful. He can do anything. And everything. And He is for me.

These words aren’t empty. The heart of the God of Heaven is shown in His promises and commandments. His Spirit empowers them and testifies to our heart that they are true. This is life. Abundant, beautiful, meaningful life. Filled with hope, light, and joy.

Leave a Reply

