Never Ashamed – Psalm 34:5

“Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.” Psalm 34:5

Reading through this psalm, I glanced down at the study notes in my Bible. On this verse they look at the word “ashamed,” explaining it as disappointed at not finding what was hoped for. This description of one who looks to God strikes me as remarkable. I began to try and place myself in this position of such great faith. Never disappointed at not finding what I was hoping for. Radiant. In hope and in delight at what I find. Because I am looking to my God. Trusting Him. Delighting in Him. And He is faithful to provide, to sustain, to bless, to withhold no good thing.

Because “those who seek the LORD lack no good thing” (Psalm 34:10). Because He is a Father who knows how to give good gifts to His children and delights to do so. Because His abundant goodness and His extravagant mercy pursue us every day. Without fail.

“The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit” (Psalm 34:18). So even in the moments when our heart is shattered and hope seems lost, our Lord draws near to remind us of who He is, that as dark as things look right now, we will not be disappointed in His story.

Our faces will never be ashamed when we look to Him. Because our Lord is good and He is glorious.

“They shall come and sing aloud on the height of Zion, and they shall be radiant over the goodness of the LORD…I will turn their mourning into joy, I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow…and my people shall be satisfied with my goodness, declares the LORD.” Jeremiah 31:12-14

“Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens. You who have done great things, O God, who is like you? You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again. You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.” Psalm 71:20-21

“For he will complete what he appoints for me, and many such things are in his mind.” Job 23:14

Leave a Reply

