The New Covenant – Mark 14:24

“And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, and they all drank of it. And he said to them, ‘This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many.’” Mark 14:24

I haven’t read in Mark for what feels like a while. So, picking up where I left off, I came across this verse. And it stopped me in my tracks. I couldn’t seem to stop looking at Jesus’ phrase, “my blood of the covenant.” Jesus poured out His own blood, withholding and avoiding nothing, to establish the new covenant of God with us. To save us. To the uttermost.

“Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, the covenant that they broke…But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people. And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more” (Jeremiah 31:31-34).

The law of God is no longer kept on tablets in the Ark of the Covenant. He has chosen instead to place it within us and write it on our hearts. In this new covenant, the covenant which fulfills the law that He wrote out for Israel so many generations ago, God has made everything much more personal. He is our Father. Not some all-powerful and unreachable being far out in the unknown, but a Father who draws near, a King whose throne of grace we can fall before without fear. Coming to the cross of Jesus, surrendering our lives to the One who reigns over all and who gave His life for us, recognizing and admitting our guilt and sin, we are forgiven and cleansed from all unrighteousness. This new covenant will never be broken once we choose to enter into it, because God in turn then fills us with His Spirit, who renews us each day. It is at that point when we are transformed and the law is written on our hearts. We are sealed, and that seal cannot be broken.

“I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul” (Jeremiah 32:39-41). I love that God’s heart is involved in this covenant. It isn’t just ours that is affected. He loves us. More deeply and purely than we can fathom. And it is in this love that we find true joy, peace, and purpose. It is in this love that we discover what life is truly about, and we finally find Someone who will never let us down. Praise our perfect Savior, Jesus, the Son of God, the Word who was in the beginning, who was with God and who was—is—God. The Savior who willingly gave His life to save us, and who rose again to conquer sin and death once and for all. May we always remember, and always be amazed by, His “blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many.”

Leave a Reply

