Time Enough – Isaiah 49:15-16

“Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands” Isaiah 49:15-16

This morning I found myself a bit short on time. I still was able to spend a few moments in Scripture and prayer, but it’s difficult to have limited time with God…to look at the clock and wonder if there is time enough. Time enough to quiet my heart. Time enough to listen and truly hear Him. Time enough to warrant His coming to meet me here. But each time this happens, He never fails to show up. He never seems to look at the clock and decide that it’s really not worth His meeting me.

Because my Lord is just that faithful. I don’t have to meet a list of requirements in order for Him to consider me “worthy” of His time. The bottom line is, I will never be worthy of His notice, let alone His intentional care and guidance. Yet He knows my name. And He doesn’t just know it—He has engraved my name on His hands. He has even chosen a name for me, declaring to all who I am: I am His. And because I am His, He will always delight to draw near to me, to speak to my heart. He will not turn me away when I seek His face.

So I come to Him, humble and just hoping that He will be faithful again, even when I have failed Him. And I am amazed once again at His overwhelming, unending grace.

“The nations shall see your righteousness, and all the kings your glory, and you shall be called by a new name that the mouth of the LORD will give. You shall be a crown of beauty in the hand of the LORD, and a royal diadem in the hand of your God. You shall no more be termed Forsaken, and your land shall no more be termed Desolate, but you shall be called My Delight Is In Her, and your land Married, for the LORD delights in you, and your land shall be married…as the bridegroom rejoices over the bride, so shall your God rejoice over you.” Isaiah 62:2-5

Leave a Reply

