Home – Psalm 84:1-3

“How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts!
My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the LORD;
my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.
Even the sparrow finds a home; and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young,
at your altars, O LORD of hosts, my King and my God.”
Psalm 84:1-3

Even a sparrow finds a home in the dwelling place of the Lord. The living God, the Lord of hosts, is not too great to take notice of one so small and seemingly insignificant.

Isn’t that a wonderful reality? It brings such peace to my soul. Because it means that no matter how small or insignificant I feel, my God takes notice of me. I find a home in His dwelling place. That lovely place of peace and joy and hope. Those courts which cause my heart and flesh to sing. The altars on which I can lay my everything, knowing that I am safe here.

I could search the world over for a place to feel at home. For a place where I am fully known and fully loved. But I will never find a place like this one. It is the living God who knows me even better than I know myself. He knows the deepest crevices of my heart and every thought in my mind. He knows every emotion and response, and understands the roots of it all. He knows my darkest secrets, all the pieces of my history that I wish I could hide or change. He knows it all…and He loves me more fully, more deeply, more perfectly than I can fathom. This place is where I am loved, not because of who I try to be, but solely because my God has chosen to love me. And His love is steadfast. I will never lose it.

In light of this truth, it is no wonder that a day in His courts is better than a thousand elsewhere (Psalm 84:10). I heard someone speak this weekend on the fruits of the spirit, that the characteristics of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control, are the characteristics of God Himself (Galatians 5:22-23). This is how God has revealed Himself to us. He has displayed perfect love in our lives. He is patient with us. He is joyous over us. He is a God of peace. He is kind to us, He is good and faithful and gentle. He exhibits self-control toward us. This is our God. This is our King. This is the One who welcomes sparrows into His dwelling place, the One who welcomes us into His family. He brings us home. Not because we’re great and significant in the eyes of the world, but because we are His redeemed. We are His beloved. He has chosen to love us, chosen to save us, and He will never let us go.

Leave a Reply

