Satisfied – Psalm 90:14

“Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love,
that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.”

Psalm 90:14

I’ve found myself feeling out of sorts the past couple of days. I’m not entirely sure of the cause…there are several possible explanations, and it could be a combination of all the various stressors. But as I pray through it, I keep getting drawn back to this verse.

No matter what the cause, the steadfast love of the Lord is what will uphold me. It is the reality of His steadfast love that gives strength to my hope and light to my days. I am loved steadfastly, loved without wavering and without fail, by the God who created the heavens. I can look across creation and see wonders and beauty abounding, and know that the One who imagined and created it all loves me and is being faithful to me.

“Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the LORD has dealt bountifully with you” (Psalm 116:7). I can beckon my soul to return to its rest in my Lord. My heart, any anxiety or fear or stress held within, can be soothed with the reminder that the Lord has dealt bountifully with me. More bountifully than I am even aware. Because He is at work in details that I can’t see. He is working on my heart, making me into the person He created me to be in Christ. He is drawing me to Himself. He has stored up abundant goodness that He will pour out on my life at perfect, appointed times. And for the rest of eternity I will enjoy the immeasurable riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.

“But I will hope continually and will praise you yet more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteous acts, of your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge” (Psalm 71:14-15). I can hope continually because of the deeds of salvation I have seen and the realization that my God has acted and intervened on our behalf, for our salvation, more times than we are aware.

So today, let us rest in His steadfast love.

Lord, only You know the depth of Your love for us. Give our hearts a greater understanding of it today, so that whatever it is we are facing, whatever our hearts are struggling through, we will be satisfied with Your steadfast love and will rest in our faith that You see us, You hear our cry, and You are at work in us and in our circumstances. Thank You for Your grace, Lord. Thank You for Your love and Your continued faithfulness to us. Fill us with Your joy, Your hope, and Your peace. Satisfy us each morning with Your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.

Leave a Reply

