Such a Love – Isaiah 40:25-26

“To whom then will you compare me, that I should be like him? says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes and see: who created these?
He who brings out their host by number, calling them all by name,
by the greatness of his might, and because he is strong in power not one is missing.”

Isaiah 40:25-26

I read a devotion this morning by Charles Spurgeon and I want to share with you the words that impressed themselves on my heart: “He loved you with such a love that he would not stop in heaven without you; he would sooner die than you should perish, and he cannot endure that anything should stand between your heart’s love and himself…Let this jealousy which would keep us near to Christ be also a comfort to us, for if he loves us so much as to care thus about our love we may be sure that he will suffer nothing to harm us, and will protect us from all our enemies.”

Reading this, I began dwelling on the great love of God for us. Particularly the phrase, “he will suffer nothing to harm us.” This thought has such a powerful impact on my heart. That God is so thoroughly, unquestioningly on my side. That He loves those who are His so steadfastly, He will not stand to have anything come near us without His grace, mercy and faithfulness covering it. He will not allow us to be harmed. He will not allow us to be overwhelmed and defeated. It may feel like we’re facing more than we can possibly handle, but when we look to our Lord, we will find Him to be our strength, our shield, and our refuge.

As I contemplated His love, I recalled Isaiah 40:26. This God who loves me so greatly created the stars. He brings each of them out, calling them all by name, by the greatness of His might. The God who, by the greatness of His might, calls out each star by name, knows mine. He knows my name. He sees me here. He meets me here. He has drawn near to me in moments of utter heartbreak, has sustained me with His grace and filled me with His unexplainable peace. Because He is strong in power, not one star in the sky is missing. The same power that holds the stars in place holds me as well. God will not let me go. He will not let me fall. He has promised to keep me. Forever. And He is able to do so, because He is strong in power. No other power can possibly hope to match His.

How amazing is it to be loved like this? This is the God who fights for me. This is the God who died for me. The God of such matchless power shows us unending faithfulness and everlasting love. There really is no comparison, no analogy that could fully capture who our God is and how much He loves us. “Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands” (Isaiah 49:15-16). Even if everyone else forgets us, rejects us, and fails us, our Lord never will. He has engraved you on the palms of His hands. He has chosen you to be His. He is for you and employs all the greatness of His might in accomplishing His purposes for you and fulfilling every promise. Trust in this. Rejoice in this. Let this be your hope, that the God who created the stars is for you and knows your name.

Leave a Reply

