In His Presence – Psalm 132:14-16

“This is my resting place forever;
here I will dwell, for I have desired it.
I will abundantly bless her provisions;
I will satisfy her poor with bread.
Her priests I will clothe with salvation,
and her saints will shout for joy.”

Psalm 132:14-16

These verses are words that the Lord is saying in reference to Zion, His chosen dwelling place. What I am seeing, however, is the more personal promise of what we are given when the Lord chooses to dwell with us.

In the presence of our Lord, there is blessing. There is provision. There is satisfaction. There is salvation. There is joy. Whatever the details of our life look like, God pours these characteristics into our days. Unique outpourings of grace. Personal glimpses of His glory and faithfulness, shown to you and to me. Specifically chosen for each of us in His steadfast love. Because He sees us. He knows us. He hears the cries of our heart and is aware of our deepest longings. And He knows the best way to satisfy our souls.

When we choose to fix our eyes on God our Savior, when we choose to trust Him, we will be able to see His faithfulness to us. If we focus only on how we want our life to go, we might miss it. Because His plans may be greater than ours…but if we don’t trust Him enough to walk with Him down that path, we won’t know the satisfaction and joy He has in store. And we won’t know the satisfaction and joy He gives in this moment, simply experienced by resting in Him and basking in the love and steadfastness of God Most High.

So let us look to our God this morning. Let us choose to rest in Him and know His assurances. That He will bless us. That He provides. That He satisfies fully. That He is mighty to save. That we will know true joy as we abide in Him.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing…These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full”
John 15:5, 11

Leave a Reply

