They Shall Know Me – Hebrews 8:10-11

“For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel
after those days, declares the LORD:
I will put my laws into their minds,
and write them on their hearts,
and I will be their God,
and they shall be my people…
for they shall all know me,
from the least of them to the greatest.”

Hebrews 8:10-11

This is such a beautiful covenant the Lord makes with us. What is impressed upon my heart this morning is His declaration that “I will be their God…for they shall all know me.” We are able to know God in this covenant. Not just know of Him. Not just be in the midst of God’s people. But to have a relationship with Him, regardless of our social status.

I’m reminded of Psalm 23:1, where David writes, “The LORD is my shepherd.” He is mine. And it isn’t a result of anything I’ve done. I certainly don’t deserve to draw near to this Holy God who reigns in majesty and righteousness. It is solely because Jesus came and gave Himself to reconcile us to the Father, “making peace by the blood of his cross” (Colossians 1:20). I can draw near to the throne of grace with confidence, trusting to receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need, because Jesus has endured the wrath of God for my sake (Hebrews 4:16).

We don’t have to measure up to expectations in order to know God. We don’t have to be the best or smartest or most talented person we know. And we don’t need to go through another person to get to Him. We simply need Christ. He is enough. “Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy” (1 Peter 2:10). Not because of who we are. But because of who He is and what He has done.

“For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’
has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.
But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.”
2 Corinthians 4:6-7

Leave a Reply

