Choose Faith – 1 John 4:16, 18

“So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love….
There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.”
1 John 4:16, 18

A couple of weeks ago I read a blog post that has had a profound effect on me (found here). I think I’ve thought of it daily. Because it speaks so clearly to a struggle I know oh-so-well. Below is an excerpt:

“I wanted something, something that wasn’t guaranteed to me in the Bible, but something God could very well give us. I was getting stuck on the mixture of knowing God didn’t promise it to me and having faith that He could give it. ‘You need to stop worrying about the mixture part,’ he said. ‘And focus on the faith.’”

I have a tendency to get stuck on this mixture. But God has implanted these words in my heart, resounding with His truth and faithfulness.

Since I read this post, every time I’ve encountered that difficult mixture, these words have been brought to my mind. And I am strengthened to choose faith. To cast aside the questions and doubt and the wondering how to balance it all.

I’m learning to rest in the faith that my God can. And to trust Him with the rest.

As I was writing all of this in my journal, these verses from 1 John were in the header at the top of the page. And they fit so perfectly. God is love. And there is no fear in love. Perfect love—the love that God has for me, love that is greater and deeper and purer than I can imagine—drives out my fear.

Fear cannot abide where Love dwells. Love actively drives it out. “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are” (1 John 3:1).

We are loved by the God of Heaven who gives good gifts to His children.

He is for us.

And He can do all things.

So when the mixture begins to stir us toward fear or doubt, let us quiet our heart and choose faith.

“O LORD, my heart is not lifted up;
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
too great and marvelous for me.
But I have calmed and quieted my soul,
like a weaned child with its mother;
like a weaned child is my soul within me.”

Psalm 131:1-2

“I lift up my eyes to the hills.
From where does my help come?
My help comes from the LORD,
who made heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot be moved;
he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD is your keeper;
the LORD is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day,
nor the moon by night.
The LORD will keep you from all evil;
he will keep your life.
The LORD will keep
your going out and your coming in
from this time forth and forevermore.”

Psalm 121

Leave a Reply

