It Is The Lord Our God – Joshua 24:16-18

“Then the people answered, ‘Far be it from us that we should forsake the LORD to serve other gods, for it is the LORD our God who brought us and our fathers up from the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery, and who did those great signs in our sight and preserved us in all the way that we went, and among all the peoples through whom we passed. And the LORD drove out before us all the peoples, the Amorites who lived in the land. Therefore we also will serve the LORD, for he is our God.’” Joshua 24:16-18

Far be it from us to serve any other god but the Living One who has done great things for us. This response from the people of Israel, their statements as to what God has done for them, resembles so well what He has done for us in Christ.

“It is the LORD our God who brought us…up from the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery.” Freedom is found in Christ. Sin’s power is no match for the strength and might of our God. Jesus took upon Himself the guilt that condemned us. He reconciles us to the Father, so that in the presence of God Himself we can know only joy and peace—fear is gone, and love reigns in its place. “I waited patiently for the LORD; he inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure” (Psalm 40:1-3). “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm, therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery” (Galatians 5:1).

“It is the LORD our God…who did those great signs in our sight and preserved us in all the way that we went.” The Lord is for us. His faithfulness to us fills our days. “For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness” (Psalm 26:3). Wherever our life takes us, whatever sorrows or difficulties we encounter, our God is with us each moment, sustaining us with His powerful grace and pouring into us His strength. He is our hope. We hold fast, clinging to the truth of the Word of God which tells us that “the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed” (Isaiah 54:10). “Remember these things, O Jacob…I formed you; you are my servant; O Israel, you will not be forgotten by me” (Isaiah 44:21).

Our God has saved us. He has delivered us into the joy of His presence forever. He makes our steps secure, and we rest knowing we are firmly kept in His grasp. He does great things for us and we stand in awe at His power and grace. He sustains us and never fails to provide our every need. We see in this passage in Joshua the calling on our lives as those who know the salvation of our God. Recalling all that He has done for us should not merely move our hearts to thankfulness—it should compel us to action. We commit ourselves to serving Him in obedient, joyful faith, knowing that He is the One who will never fail us and the One who will satisfy our soul.

“I love the LORD, because he has heard
my voice and my pleas for mercy.
Because he inclined his ear to me,
therefore I will call on him as long as I live…
For you have delivered my soul from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling…
What shall I render to the LORD
for all his benefits to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the LORD”

Psalm 116:1-2, 8, 12-13

One thought on “It Is The Lord Our God – Joshua 24:16-18

Leave a Reply

