Never On Your Own – Hebrews 13:20-21

“Now may the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant, equip you with everything good that you may do his will, working in us that which is pleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen.” Hebrews 13:20-21

There are several instances in Scripture that speak of God giving us all that we need to do His will. I love how this one is introduced—the focus on who our God is and what He has done.

This God of peace raised Jesus from the dead. This is evidence of His unfathomable power. Death itself cannot stop Him. And it displays for us that God can turn circumstances around in an instant if He so chooses. Odds don’t matter in the kingdom of God—only the will of Him who calls us and who loves us more deeply than we can comprehend.

Jesus is our great Shepherd. He knows us. He leads us. He cares for us. He seeks us out if we are lost. He saves and protects us, even at the expense of His own life. “The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice…I came that they may have life and have it abundantly…I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep…I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand” (John 10:3-28). This passage reminds me of a favorite verse of mine, 2 Timothy 2:19, “The Lord knows those who are his.” He knows us, sees us, and will never fail us.

The blood Jesus shed marks the covenant God makes with us. We lay ourselves down before the cross, trusting in the sacrifice of Christ to save us, and we live in the promise of Jeremiah 32:38-41, “And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.”

This God who will always be faithful to us; this God who knows, leads, and keeps us; this God whose power is great enough to overcome death; He is on your side, equipping you with everything good that you may do His will. Through Jesus Christ, He is working in you that which is pleasing in His sight. You are never on your own. It isn’t all up to you. It’s up to the God who lives within you. And He will never fail.

Leave a Reply

