Our Great Light – Isaiah 9:2, 6

“The people who walked in darkness
have seen a great light;
those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness,
on them light has shined…
For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given.”

Isaiah 9:2, 6a

So much darkness surrounds us. So much darkness lies within us. But this Child who was born long ago in the small town of Bethlehem is the great Light that dispels all of that darkness.

Hope is here. Found in our Savior. We need the reminder whether we are just learning about Him or have known Him for years. Because there are times when life just seems to fall apart, when hope feels out of reach.

“But as for me, I will look to the LORD;
I will wait for the God of my salvation;
my God will hear me.
Rejoice not over me, my enemy;
when I fall, I shall rise;
when I sit in darkness,
the LORD will be a light to me.”
Micah 7:7-8

We look to the Lord. We wait for the God of our salvation, because those who wait for Him shall never be put to shame. We cry out to Him, knowing that He will hear us and will answer, for we are greatly loved. Our enemies will not win. The steadfast love of our Lord upholds us and He uplifts our face.

The Lord is a light to us. Even when we fall. Even when we sit in darkness. However powerful the threatening despair seems, our God is greater. His light is enough to break through. The truth is, hope is never out of reach. Because it is Hope that reaches for us.

Leave a Reply

