Greater Faith – Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD,
plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

Jeremiah 29:11

This morning I’ve been dwelling a lot on the coming year. Quite common, I’m sure, for January 1st. In my reflections, it became clear very quickly that I want this year to be marked by greater faith. Faith that is confident, steadfast, and joyfully expectant. I want 2014 to see new days for me characterized by eager anticipation of what my God will do and wonder at how He will accomplish His every good purpose. I want to be thoroughly delighted in Him, unhindered in my belief and praise of who He is.

Too long have I wavered in my faith. Too long have I struggled with the mix of knowing that He can do all things but not knowing that He will. Too long has fear held me back from being fully vulnerable with the One who has never failed me and who never will.

My God does great and wondrous things. Around us and within us. He knows the plans He has for each of us, plans for our welfare, to give us a future and to give us hope. So let us walk in a manner worthy of Him—a manner that says we have hope. We have joy. We have confidence in who our God is, that He is good and does good, and that He is at work in ways that will take our breath away. He is infinitely glorious and He will not let us down. The God who set the universe in motion, the God who upholds it all by the word of His power, is the same God who is for us and keeps us as the apple of His eye. What need have we to fear? What reason have we to doubt? He does not waver in His faithfulness. Let us not waver in our faith.

Lord, continue Your great work in strengthening my faith. Bolster my hope in You. And may the effects reach every facet of my days. Every conversation. Every prayer. Every decision. Every thought of dreams and hopes for the future. Every opportunity You bring my way to love and serve others and to share Your grace. I pray that for each of us, this year would be one of joyful expectation as we seek Your face and watch for Your hand in our lives.

Leave a Reply

