The Good Portion – Luke 10:42

“Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”
Luke 10:42

I want to choose the good portion. To sit at my Lord’s feet and learn from Him. To quiet my heart and listen. To draw near, seeking to simply be in His presence. To delight in Him above all things, knowing that He alone will satisfy.

I want Him to be my focus, the only One whose opinion truly matters. So that regardless of how others perceive my actions, I am content knowing that my Lord knows my heart and will bless me. This isn’t an excuse to become lazy in our service or neglectful in our obedience; rather, it is a reminder to not get caught up in action and forget the reason behind it all.

It is love for our Lord which motivates us in service. And this love is deepened and strengthened as we abide in Him, choosing to dwell in the presence of our Savior. Shutting out the many distractions and lesser portions which fight for our attention, and fixing our eyes fully on Him.

So let us draw near to Him today, allowing Him to fill us with Himself, strengthen us with His might, and delight us with the steadfastness of His love.

“May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the steadfastness of Christ” (2 Thessalonians 3:5). As you quiet your heart and listen to His still, small, powerful voice, may He root His truth in your heart and fill you with joy in His presence.

Leave a Reply

