Whom I Have Believed – 2 Timothy 1:12

“But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.” 2 Timothy 1:12

What a comforting, empowering statement to make: I know whom I have believed. In Isaiah 43:10, the prophet writes, “‘You are my witnesses,’ declares the LORD, ‘and my servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me. I, I am the LORD, and besides me there is no savior.’” In Jeremiah 9:23-24, our Lord makes another declaration: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight.”

Those of us in Christ know whom we have believed. Because we don’t believe in a distant god. We don’t merely adhere to a set of rules and regulations and expect our goodness to save us. We believe in a Savior who is our righteousness and salvation, One who is active in our lives to shepherd us and who reaches down to pull us out of the mire. We believe in a God who draws near, who speaks to our hearts with power and assurance. We believe in a God who reveals Himself to us without question, driving away the doubt and fear that can cloud our thoughts. He awakens our ears to hear Him, opens our eyes to see His glory, and unfolds His Word to light our way with truth.

This confidence, this knowledge of who our God is, allows us to walk in the spirit given to us, “a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control” (2 Timothy 1:7). The Spirit of God is within us, with the immeasurable greatness of His power. With the steadfast, selfless, conquering love that Christ displayed on the cross. With the self-control that enables us to be holy as He is holy, to lay aside pride, sin, fear, and all that hinders us so that we can follow Him absolutely.

I know whom I have believed, and He is faithful. He is good and does good. He is for me, and nothing in all of creation will ever separate me from His love. He is the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness, for in these things He delights.

Leave a Reply

