Joy Before the Angels – Luke 15:8-10

“Or what woman, having ten silver coins, if she loses one coin, does not light a lamp and sweep the house and seek diligently until she finds it? And when she has found it, she calls together her friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found the coin that I had lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Luke 15:8-10

“I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay my life down for the sheep.” John 10:14-15

“But the LORD’s portion is his people,
Jacob his allotted heritage.
He found him in a desert land,
and in the howling waste of the wilderness;
he encircled him, he cared for him;
he kept him as the apple of his eye.”

Deuteronomy 32:9-10

“Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when he is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them from all places where they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness…I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep, and I myself will make them lie down, declares the Lord GOD. I will seek the lost, and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak.” Ezekiel 34:11-12, 15-16

Our Lord seeks us out. His precious sheep. He doesn’t take our salvation lightly, and we will never be lost in the midst of a multitude of others—He sees us, He delights in us, and He purposefully searches for each one.

“There is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” There is joy. Over one sinner who repents. Over one sinner who sees the choice before him and chooses life. Over one sinner who weighs the cost and recognizes the treasure that is Jesus—a treasure that is worth everything. Over one sinner who determines to pursue truth, holiness, righteousness, and Christ instead of all that he had been pursuing before.

This decision causes all of heaven to erupt in rejoicing. This one, this precious sheep whom the God of salvation sought out in the howling waste of the wilderness, has been found, reconciled, encircled in the strong, faithful arms of the Creator.

If you know Him, allow this amazing thought to overwhelm your heart—the God of heaven and all His angels have rejoiced over you, for you chose life. You chose Him. He sought you out and found you, and heaven was filled with joy.

If you haven’t made the choice, know that this God is searching for you. He longs for you to choose Him, so you will be filled with all the fullness of God and you will know joy to its fullest extent. And the moment you choose Christ, all of heaven will be filled with rejoicing.

Leave a Reply

