Poor and Needy – Psalm 40:17

“As for me, I am poor and needy,
but the LORD takes thought for me.”

Psalm 40:17a

The LORD takes thought for me. The One who owns the heavens and the earth. The One who gave His life to save the world, and who raised Himself from the dead so we could live in His victory. This One whose power even extends over the grave, whose greatness is unsearchable—He thinks of me. As poor and needy as I am. As much as I feel, particularly in this season, that I have nothing to offer.

What a wonderfully personal statement this psalmist is making. How comforting it is to those who feel keenly that they have nothing to give. One who is broken. One in mourning. One whose “iniquities have overtaken me…they are more than the hairs of my head” (Psalm 40:12). One whose heart fails and whose bed is soaked with tears.

The LORD takes thought for you. He takes notice. Intentionally. He remembers you, He sees you, because you are His treasured possession. Let these next few verses sink into your heart, and may the Spirit of our Lord impress on our hearts their depth and unchanging truth.

“How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
If I would count them, they are more than the sand.”

Psalm 139:17-18a

“You have kept count of my tossings;
put my tears in your bottle…
This I know, that God is for me.”

Psalm 56:8-9

“I cry aloud to God,
aloud to God, and he will hear me.”

Psalm 77:1

“At the beginning of your pleas for mercy a word went out, and I have come to tell it to you, for you are greatly loved.”
Daniel 9:23a

In Isaiah 30:15, the Lord tells His people, “In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” It is a beautiful reality that our salvation and our strength are not found in ourselves. They are found in returning to and resting in our God. In quieting ourselves and choosing to trust Him even in dark and confusing places. We trust in our God who is for us. We rest in Him, knowing that He is here even when we don’t feel Him. Because our God’s faithfulness, His presence in our lives, His steadfast love that fills all of His plans for us—none of that is affected by what we feel.

He is here and He is faithful. He thinks of us. He loves us more than we can imagine. Poor and needy as we are, we can rest in Him knowing that He will carry, He will sustain, and He will come through in glorious splendor.

Leave a Reply

