Strong Enough – Psalm 94:18

“When I thought, ‘My foot slips,’
your steadfast love, O LORD, held me up.”

Psalm 94:18

“Behold, I go forward, but he is not there,
and backward, but I do not perceive him;
on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him;
he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him.
But he knows the way that I take;
when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold.”

Job 23:9-10

The song “Forever Reign” has a line in its chorus speaking to our God, “The riches of Your love will always be enough.” When I heard the words this morning, one word was impressed on my heart: Always.

If Psalm 94:18 says that the steadfast love of the Lord holds me up, then that means His steadfast love is strong enough to hold me. Not just in times of dancing. In times of mourning, times of weariness, times when all I see around me is desert. The Lord’s love is still steadfast, still present, and still strong enough.

Because His love is filled with the power of the infinite God, the One who lives forever and ever and who never changes. I may not be able to hear or see Him at times, but He is still here. He knows the way that I take. And He is for me. He has chosen to make a covenant with me, a covenant made with the blood of His beloved Son, to never cease doing good to me and to plant me in the land of His faithfulness, with all His heart and all His soul (Jeremiah 32:40-41). I am anchored in the steadfastness of His salvation, and He will never be unfaithful. God is glorified in His faithfulness to His children. I can stand on that truth, knowing He will never turn from me.

Faithful God, You hold me together. You sustain me. You are my keeper and the upholder of my life. Your steadfast love holds me up, every moment. I am cared for by the God of heaven. Lord, Your voice is powerful and full of majesty. Speak light into my life, and banish the darkness of despair and doubt that threatens in difficult seasons. Your voice shakes the wilderness. Shake our wilderness, Lord God. Cause rivers and streams to burst through our desert. Open our eyes to see that the earth is full of the goodness of our Lord.

Leave a Reply

