Witnesses – Isaiah 43:10

“‘You are my witnesses,’ declares the LORD,
‘and my servant whom I have chosen,
that you may know and believe me
and understand that I am he.
Before me no god was formed,
nor shall there be any after me.’”

Isaiah 43:10

Lately I’ve been struggling with discouragement. One twist in the road has served as a catalyst to highlight for me areas of my life that haven’t played out the way I wanted. Things I want to change but have no control over. Which has left me praying—pleading—with God for good things to happen. For me to see His goodness, and to see it working out details the way I want.

Tonight, as I was driving home from visiting friends, I began thinking about my story. The story God has been writing with my life. Several years ago, He assured me that I will not be disappointed with my story. As difficult as it is at times, as confusing as it can be when I’m walking certain paths, I will not be disappointed. Because He knows what He’s doing, and the aim of this story is fullness of joy for me and majestic glory for Him.

That assurance still holds true today. We will not be disappointed in the story our God is weaving together. The story of His faithfulness and love, poured out for us and sustaining us each moment. Never wavering.

Isaiah 43:10 gives strength to this belief. God has chosen each of His people as a witness for Him. A witness to His justice. A witness to His righteousness. A witness to His power and His strength within us. A witness to His sovereignty. A witness to His wisdom which far surpasses our own. A witness to His goodness. A witness to His grace. A witness to His perfect love. A witness to the wonderful things He will do in and through a life of one who is wholly, unreservedly surrendered to Him.

God Himself has chosen us that we may know Him, believe Him, and understand that He is God Almighty and there is no other. The story that He is writing with your life is being woven together in flawless fashion to show His faithfulness, His power, and the majestic glory of His grace.

Jeremiah 9:23-24 records these words of our God: “Thus says the LORD: ‘Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the LORD.’” This is the declaration of our God. This is the God that we know. And this is what others will see in our lives, what will be evident in our story. Steadfast love, justice, and righteousness. For our God delights in these things.

We’re going to have things in our life that we don’t understand. We will face challenging circumstances in which the commands of God don’t make sense to us, and we will be tempted to justify our desire to go against them. As followers of Christ, we are called to walk a narrow path that most will not choose. But it is a path of light, of victory, of power, of peace that fills our soul and joy that settles deep in our heart. It is a path that we never walk alone. Because our Savior walks with us. Almighty God goes before us and is our rear guard. As we hold fast to Him, rest assured we will be able to declare that throughout our days, He has held fast to us.

“May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the steadfastness of Christ.”
2 Thessalonians 3:5

Leave a Reply

