I Will Make Them Know – Jeremiah 16:21

“Therefore, behold, I will make them know,
this once I will make them know my power and my might,
and they shall know that my name is the LORD.”

Jeremiah 16:21

I love this declarative statement from our God. One made with unquestionable authority, leaving no room for the possibility of His not accomplishing everything that He has purposed. He will make them know His power and His might, and they shall know His name—that He is Creator God, the King who reigns over all and whose power will never be matched or overcome.

There’s just something about dwelling on the power and might and greatness of our God. It settles my spirit as nothing else can. At least, that’s how it seems at this moment…I suppose in His wisdom He highlights the aspects of His character and person we most need to see in a given moment. But right now, it is impressed on my heart that this great and powerful and mighty God is He who is for me. The God who lives forever and ever, my Savior who is the same yesterday, today, and forever, is on my side.

In 2 Chronicles 20, we read of King Jehoshaphat’s reaction to a great multitude coming against his people. He gathers all of Judah and Jerusalem together to seek the Lord. In the recorded words of his prayer, this king declares, “In your hand are power and might, so that none is able to withstand you” (2 Chronicles 20:6b).

The armies approaching them were far greater than Judah could handle, but these people came before the Lord, looking to Him and trusting Him to act. The Lord gave the following words to one of the Levites: “Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed at this great horde, for the battle is not yours but God’s…Stand firm, hold your position, and see the salvation of the LORD on your behalf” (2 Chronicles 20:15-17).

It is reminiscent of Moses’s words to the Israelites just before God parted the Red Sea for their crossing: “Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the LORD, which he will work for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall never see again. The LORD will fight for you, and you have only to be silent” (Exodus 14:13-14).

This God who parted the Red Sea before His people, the God who fought the battle for those in Judah as great armies came against them, is the same God who fights for His people today. He fights for me, and He fights for you. “Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed; he will answer him from his holy heaven with the saving might of his right hand. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God. They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright” (Psalm 20:6-8). “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31).

“Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him;
I will protect him, because he knows my name.
When he calls to me, I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will rescue him and honor him.
With long life I will satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”
Psalm 91:14-16

Leave a Reply

