I Will Be Their God – Jeremiah 31:33

“For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.”
Jeremiah 31:33

“I will be their God.” This morning, I read a devotion written by Charles Spurgeon that focuses on this phrase. He begins with these thoughts:

“Dear Christian, what more could you possibly need? To be truly happy you desire something that will fully satisfy you. Is this promise not enough? If you could pour it into your own cup, would you not say, as David did, ‘My cup overflows’ (Psalm 23:5). I have more than my heart could wish for.”

Before I even got through that short paragraph, there was a great desire in me to spend more time meditating on the focused phrase: “I will be their God.”

This is my God. The God who wrote each word of Scripture. The God who upholds it, keeps it with His great power. The God who has declared every promise and issued every warning, and the God who awakens my ear and opens my eyes to behold wondrous things in this, His Law. He is mine.

When this very personal aspect is carefully considered, does it not fill your heart with wonder? The reality that you can say this God is yours. Not that He belongs to us and follows our commands—He is not bound by our requests and momentary wishes. But we are His people. Called by His name. He will never forsake His own, because they are His, and He is faithful.

I am reminded of a quote by David Platt, from a sermon focusing on Psalm 23. He was looking at verse 3, “He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake,” and made this statement: “Our God has bound up His glory and His honor and His reputation and His name in faithfully providing for you in the midst of difficulty.”

The Lord has declared that He will be my God. If you are in Christ, He has declared the same for you. Never failing. Never wavering in His faithfulness and grace. Every moment, every day, now and for all of eternity, He will be your God. He knows you, He sees you, and He has engraved your name on His hands.

“I will bring them back to this place, and I will make them dwell in safety. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. And I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.”
Jeremiah 32:37b-41

“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.”
1 Peter 2:9-10

“So when God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath, so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie,
we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us.
We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor for the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain,
where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf”

Hebrews 6:17-20a

Leave a Reply

