The Lame and the Outcast – Micah 4:7

“and the lame I will make the remnant,
and those who were cast off, a strong nation;
and the LORD will reign over them in Mount Zion
from this time forth and forevermore.”

Micah 4:7

The remnant our God chooses—the remnant of the living God, those who worship and serve Him and enjoy His faithfulness and love—are not the strong, the powerful, the obviously capable.

No, His remnant is the lame. His nation is the outcasts. Those who feel too weak, too hopeless, too unqualified, too far gone, too rejected. These are the ones our Lord seeks out and draws near. These are the ones He builds up, strengthens, trains and equips for battle. These are the ones through whom He is glorified. The least of all, made beautiful and whole through the power and presence of Jesus Christ, the One who “fills all in all” (Ephesians 1:23).

So on those days when we feel like we just aren’t enough, in the moments when we wish we had it all together the way other people seem to, let us find hope in this: we are among the remnant chosen by our God. Chosen not haphazardly, but with intentionality, wisdom, and grace.

Yes, our weaknesses and failures will show. But our desire is that our God will shine brighter. That somehow He will be glorified in our weakness. And He will. It is in our weakness that His power is made perfect. Let us trust Him with it, and rejoice knowing that He has chosen us to be His vessels. Vessels which showcase the power and majesty of God Most High. Vessels through which the world will see the glory of His magnificent grace.

“And I will save the lame
and gather the outcast,
and I will change their shame into praise
and renown in all the earth.”

Zephaniah 3:19b

“And Peter said to them, ‘Repent and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins, and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is for you and for your children and for all who are far off, everyone whom the Lord our God calls to himself.”
Acts 2:38-39

“Those who were not my people I will call ‘my people,’
and her who was not beloved I will call ‘beloved,’
And in the very place where it was said to them, ‘You are not my people,’
there they will be called sons of the living God.”

Romans 9:25-26

“For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God.”
1 Corinthians 1:26-29

“Thus says the LORD: ‘Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the LORD.’”
Jeremiah 9:23-24

“But you, Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
the offspring of Abraham, my friend;
you whom I took from the ends of the earth,
and called from its farthest corners,
saying to you, ‘You are my servant,
I have chosen you and have not cast you off’;
fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 41:8-10

Leave a Reply

