That Which Cannot Be Shaken – Hebrews 12:27-29

“At that time his voice shook the earth, but now he has promised, ‘Yet once more I will shake not only the earth
but also the heavens.’ This phrase, ‘Yet once more,’ indicates the removal of things that are shaken—that is, things that have been made—in order that the things that cannot be shaken may remain. Therefore let us be grateful
for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship,
with reverence and awe, for our God is a consuming fire.”
Hebrews 12:27-29

I guess it’s during those times when things in our life are shaken that we feel a marked appreciation for the things which cannot be. As I opened the Scriptures this morning, I sought comfort and peace, for God to strengthen and fill me in the midst of this season of grief. In His grace and providence, my heavenly Father led me here.

Here, I found the reminder of that which cannot be shaken. My God. His Word. His kingdom. His salvation. Everything else can be lost. But I stand on a foundation which is firm and immovable. I trust in promises which will never fail, purposes which my God will perfectly and fully accomplish.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time” (1 Peter 1:3-5).

My God has caused me to be born again to a living hope, because of His great mercy and through the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Everything else we know falls away or changes or fades, but this hope is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading.

Whether we consider seasons of our lives when our personal world is shaken, or the end of days when it applies to all of heaven and earth, those things which cannot be shaken will remain, steadfast. And for all who have trusted in Christ, we are among that which cannot be shaken. The unchanging, all-powerful God know those who are His, and He holds us firmly in His grasp, guarding and keeping us each moment.

I pray that this truth will resonate in your soul. That it will bring comfort, confidence, and hope. And that we will each offer worship that is acceptable with this in view. Worship offered in reverence and awe. In confident faith and resounding praise. Looking not to ourselves, but always, always to the One whom we worship, the living God who reigns forever and ever.

“Lift up your eyes to the heavens,
look at the earth beneath;
the heavens will vanish like smoke,
the earth will wear out like a garment…
But my salvation will last forever,
my righteousness will never fail.”

Isaiah 51:6

Leave a Reply

