Hearing Our Prayer – John 16:26-27

“In that day you will ask in my name, and I do not say to you that I will ask the Father on your behalf;
for the Father himself loves you, because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God.”

John 16:26-27

“At the beginning of your pleas for mercy a word went out,
and I have come to tell it to you, for you are greatly loved.”

Daniel 9:23a

Yesterday, I issued a prayer to my God, specifically asking for breakthrough, for walls broken down in a person’s heart at a certain time. He heard my cry and answered so clearly, so beautifully and graciously that I was overwhelmed with this evidence that prayer does matter – that even my prayers matter.

It can be so easy for me to only recall those prayers that didn’t get answered the way I wanted. And then to conclude that my prayers just don’t have the power that some people’s do. But that is a lie. When my prayer is issued from a humble heart that believes in the power and character and wisdom and sovereignty of my God, it matters. The power of His Spirit is there. Affecting my heart. Effecting change in the world around me as He chooses. Helping me to pray according to the will of God – which is so much bigger and greater than what I can see.

God hears my prayers. Just as He hears yours. His power is at work through the prayers of His people, accomplishing all of His purposes to the great glory of His name, and we rejoice knowing that we are able to be a part of His mighty work.

Today, rejoice that the all-powerful God of heaven hears your prayers. The Father Himself loves you, and you need no mediator to bring your praise, your confessions, your requests before His throne – you need only faith in Jesus Christ who reconciles you to God, and a heart humbly bowing to His will and believing in the truth of His Word. At the beginning of your pleas for mercy, God will be there, assuring your heart that you are greatly loved.

“O my God, incline your ear and hear…
For we do not present our pleas before you because of our righteousness, but because of your great mercy.”

Daniel 9:18

Leave a Reply

