Above Everything Else – Jeremiah 15:16-20

“Your words were found, and I ate them,
and your words became to me a joy
and the delight of my heart,
for I am called by your name,
O LORD, God of hosts…
Why is my pain unceasing,
my wound incurable,
refusing to be healed?
Will you be to me like a deceitful brook,
like waters that fail?
Therefore thus says the LORD:
‘If you return, I will restore you,
and you shall stand before me.
If you utter what is precious, and not what is worthless,
you shall be as my mouth…
they will fight against you,
but they shall not prevail over you,
for I am with you to save you and deliver you,
declares the LORD.’”

Jeremiah 15:16-20

This passage captures so well the inner conflict that can occur when life doesn’t follow the path we expected. Whatever the difficulty before us – sickness, loss, disappointment, betrayal, rejection – our hearts may begin to question how God could let this happen. If we have sought to pour out our life to our God and make Him and His Word our delight, if we are His, why are we caught in this affliction? Has He deceived us? Has He let us down?

O Believer, do not fall for the lie that whispers our God is not faithful. Fix your eyes instead on His response to Jeremiah; there is truth there for us as well. We may have fallen into doubt, disbelief, and even anger at Him, but if we will return, He will restore us. He will refresh our soul and strengthen us to stand against the torrent of affliction. If we will declare what is true, to ourselves and to those around us, we will become His mouthpiece – a vessel used by our God of light, in Whom is no darkness at all, to call attention to His steadfastness and His great love.

That truth is not found in how we perceive our circumstances. It is found in the Word of God, which will stand forever. It will never change. Because it displays the glory and character of our God who never changes.

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace.
In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33

Jesus Christ, God our Savior, has overcome the world. He has dominion over all. Whatever discouragements we face, whatever lies begin to take root in our heart, He is able to overcome it all. We will have victory if we will set our eyes on Him and determine to trust Him, trust His Word, above everything else – even when we cannot understand what’s happening around us. The enemy will not prevail over you. For your God is with you, to save you and deliver you, to restore you to Himself and make you His mouthpiece, that His almighty power, His glorious grace, His unending faithfulness, and His steadfast love will be known throughout the world.

“Can a woman forget her nursing child,
that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb?
Even these may forget,
yet I will not forget you.
Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
your walls are continually before me.”

Isaiah 49:15-16

Leave a Reply

