Safety – Deuteronomy 33:12

“The beloved of the LORD dwells in safety.
The High God surrounds him all day long,
and dwells between his shoulders.”

Deuteronomy 33:12

“The LORD…will keep your life…
from this time forth and forevermore.”

Psalm 121:7-8

As those beloved by the Lord of heaven, we dwell in safety. Safety far beyond our circumstances and far deeper than our physical bodies. This safety extends through all eternity, past this mortal life, and it reaches to our very soul.

We dwell here, in this safety. Our God keeps us. He keeps our life. He fills our soul with all His glorious, satisfying fullness. He pours His love into our heart and His Spirit assures us in unspeakable certainty that we are His – from this time forth and forevermore.

The High God – the Most High, the supreme authority whose greatness and power fill all of creation – surrounds me all day long. Because He loves me greatly. He does not leave me for a moment, and as I’ve heard Kay Arthur say, “Everything that enters my life is filtered through God’s sovereign fingers of love.”

My God, the Living, Holy One, surrounds me and will not allow me to be destroyed. He will uphold me. He will strengthen and supply and encourage. He is my Shield and He surrounds me with light, even when I walk through dark valleys and battle unanswered questions. “As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds his people, from this time forth and forevermore” (Psalm 125:2).

What’s more, this Most High God dwells between my shoulders. He is very near. Very present. Not just around me, but closer than I can imagine. Not missing a moment. Never failing to provide exactly what I need when I need it, because He knows my needs before I even ask and He is a Father who will not forget, forsake, or neglect any one of His children. Always assuring me of His perfect love to drive out the fears of which He is so very aware. Perhaps not answering my questions, but always, always showing me who He is. Proving Himself to be my Fortress, my Rock, and my good Shepherd – that good Shepherd who gave His life for His sheep and calls each one to Himself by name.

“Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way,
though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea”
Psalm 46:2

“‘For the mountains may depart
and the hills be removed,
but my steadfast love shall not depart from you,
and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,’
says the LORD, who has compassion on you.”
Isaiah 54:10

Leave a Reply

