God of Mystery – Romans 11:33

“Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God!
How unsearchable are His judgments and how inscrutable His ways!”

Romans 11:33

“I did not speak in secret,
in a land of darkness;
I did not say to the offspring of Jacob,
‘Seek me in vain.’
I the LORD speak the truth;
I declare what is right.”

Isaiah 45:19

“You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”
Jeremiah 29:13

Our God is one of mystery. As I began reading Scripture this morning, I was reminded that I cannot peel back the layers of God’s glory on my own. Revelations of who He is must come from God Himself – for He is infinite. He is great and glorious and so much more than our eyes can see and our minds can comprehend. So we search for Him and we try to understand, but our understanding is entirely dependent on what He enables us to see.

This could cause one to feel helpless or desperate. But praise God, He wants us to know Him! He has placed the desire in our hearts, and as He said in Isaiah 45:19, He does not tell us to seek Him in vain. No, we will find Him when we seek Him with all our heart. But it must be real. We can’t half-heartedly seek to know who God is and not put it as much of a priority. We need to be determined here. Making the choice to seek. Crying out to Him, reading His Word, humbling our hearts at His throne. When we truly do so, He will unveil His glory. And it will only take the briefest glimpse to fill our hearts with wonder and make our souls rejoice.

While contemplating this, I read Hebrews 3:15: “As it is said, ‘Today, if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.’” It occurred to me how hurtful it would be to have someone harden their heart when you try to reveal a part of you. And I started to think through moments when we might choose to harden our hearts against God’s revelation of Himself.

– Hardening against difficult circumstances, which were purposed to show us how personal and faithful and powerful our God is.

– Hardening against His Word because it challenges us to make different choices, to live and act and react differently.

– Hardening because we want more control.

– Or perhaps simply choosing not to come to Him. Not considering a closer relationship – and the opportunity to behold His glory – worth making the time.

How sad. That we would miss out on glory and wonder and the revelation of who God is by hardening ourselves against it or choosing something else. I know I’ve done it.

But there is hope here. Because God has not given up on us. “O Israel, you will not be forgotten by me. I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud and your sins like mist; return to me, for I have redeemed you” (Isaiah 44:21b-22).

We have a God whose splendor exceeds that of the heavens. One of whom is written, “He determines the number of the stars; He gives to all of them their names. Great is our LORD, and abundant in power; His understanding is beyond measure” (Psalm 147:4-5). Yet He is ours. He is not distant, but chooses to draw near. Near enough to dwell within us as Spirit, revealing truth and glory to us if we will only seek Him and listen.

This great God, Creator and Sustainer of all that there is, the One who knows the beginning and end of all things and has purposed each season according to His goodness, grace, and wisdom – He wants to be known by us. And for us to be filled with all the fullness of God as we realize the depth of His great love which surpasses knowledge (Ephesians 3:19).

So let us seek Him today with our whole heart. May the verses below be our prayer as we come to Him not out of hopeless desperation, but in faith that when we truly seek Him, He will be found.

“Open my eyes, that I may behold
wondrous things out of Your law…
The unfolding of Your word gives light;
it imparts understanding to the simple.”
Psalm 119:18, 130

“Morning by morning He awakens;
He awakens my ear
to hear as those who are taught.
The Lord GOD has opened my ear,
and I was not rebellious;
I turned not backward.”
Isaiah 50:4b-5

Leave a Reply

