Enough – Job 6:11-12

“What is my strength, that I should wait?…
Is my strength the strength of stones, or is my flesh bronze?”

Job 6:11-12

“I love you, O LORD, my strength.”
Psalm 18:1

Hearing Job’s despair, reflecting on all he had lost – his property, his servants, his health, his children – I was drawn to this cry in chapter 6. This was a man who had lost everything. A man whose very integrity, which held fast even amidst these losses, was then called into question by his closest friends.

A man at the end of himself. Crying out that he hasn’t the strength for this. And truly, who would?

Yet as I read his words, a quiet whisper in my heart breathed Psalm 18:1, “I love you, O Lord, my strength.”

Oh, how comforting to realize that my strength doesn’t have to be enough.

In sickness, in loss, in confusion, when circumstances overwhelm or life just falls apart – I don’t have to be enough.

Because my God is.

God my Savior, my strength, my hope, my very breath – He is enough. When I don’t know how to do life anymore, how to even keep walking a painful, darkened path, there is One who is my foundation, who puts breath in my lungs, covers me as a shield to silence the enemy, and carries me if I cannot walk further. This One is my light when all else fails. When darkness closes in. If I will study His Word, letting it seep into my heart and root itself deeply as truth, and fix my eyes on who He declares Himself to be, light begins to pierce through.

“I love you, O Lord, my strength.” Because I am not alone here. Dear reader, you are not alone here. It will still be hard. It will still hurt. But you will not be alone, even in the darkest hours of the night. Jesus is enough for you. He died to restore you to Himself, and to restore all of your hurts to beautiful abundance. Let Him be your hope, your strength, your light. You will need no other, and your soul will find rest and true belonging – a home where you are beloved and upheld forevermore.

“My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Psalm 73:26

One thought on “Enough – Job 6:11-12

  1. Pingback: Death – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

